File Transfer allows agents to share files with a visitor during an engagement. This is different from Co-browse Document Share that Agents can use to display and guide visitors through documents in real time.
Agents can share Files with visitors during an engagement by clicking the File Transfer button at the top of the Chat window:
Note: If this button is not present, see: Enabling File Transfer
This prompts the agent to select any file from their local machine.
Files must be less than 100MB is size.
When the agent selects a file, it is made available and the visitor is notified.
For example the Agent sees the following:
If the default behavior has not been changed, the visitor can click the Download button to initiate the download:
- The original file can only be downloaded once.
- The Download button is deactivated after it is pressed.
- The file is not available after the chat has ended.
- The file is not available more than 30 minutes after sending.
- The file is not stored for retrieval after the chat has ended.
The file begins to download using the browser's default behavior. For example, in Chrome it may be displayed at the bottom of the window:
Note: If the visitor is using Microsoft Internet Explorer, a new window opens, and the download starts. If the file type is unknown to Internet Explorer, it may prompt the user to accept the download.
When downloaded, agents should bear in mind that a visitor may be unable to find the download. Most browsers provide a download-tab to find recently downloaded files, but this varies from browser to browser. The maximum file name length is limited by both the agent's and visitor's Operating Systems (typically 255 characters).
To customize the default behavior, see: File Transfer API